Something in the Water

By Catherine Steadman

Something in the Water - Catherine Steadman
  • Release Date: 2018-06-05
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 997 Ratings

Description

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut—for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena.

“A psychological thriller that captivated me from page one. What unfolds makes for a wild, page-turning ride! It’s the perfect beach read!”—Reese Witherspoon (Reese’s Book Club x Hello Sunshine book pick)

If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you?
 
Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .
 
Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?
 
Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .
 
Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?
 
Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman’s enthralling voice shines throughout this spellbinding debut novel. With piercing insight and fascinating twists, Something in the Water challenges the reader to confront the hopes we desperately cling to, the ideals we’re tempted to abandon, and the perfect lies we tell ourselves.

Praise for Something in the Water

“Arresting . . . deftly paced, elegantly chilly . . . [Catherine] Steadman brings . . . wit, timing and intelligence to this novel. . . . Something in the Water is a proper page-turner.”The New York Times

“With unreliable characters, wry voices, exquisite pacing, and a twisting plot, Steadman potently draws upon her acting chops. . . . A darkly glittering gem of a thriller from a new writer to watch.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Captivating . . . daring . . . The threats and increasingly bad decisions accelerate with Bourne-like velocity. . . . Steadman [is] a newcomer worth watching.”Publishers Weekly

“An unbearably tense debut with a knockout premise, Something in the Water had me hooked from the very first sentence. Thrilling and thought-provoking, it’s the perfect beach read. I devoured it!”—Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Final Girls

Reviews

  • Loved it!

    5
    By Deej1367
    This book did not disappoint! Such a good read, highly recommend
  • Something in the Water

    5
    By suzz-ee-q
    This book was intriguing and addictive. It was very difficult to put it down for a break when I needed to do other things like sleeping, eating or going to work! The ending caught me completely off guard. Things turned out so unexpectedly! How many people totally trust someone who turns out to be untrustworthy? This proves the expression: “Love is blind!”
  • Fast-paced thrilling suspense

    5
    By SG, Minneapolis
    I never write reviews, but had to comment on this great thriller! From the way it begins—digging her husbands grave—to the surprising end, this book had me hooked! Characters are interesting and the plot unfolds with believable twists and turns leading you to a surprising end. Some of the gripping scenes described with clarity, detail and emotion that I felt my heart racing right along with Erin. I had a hard time putting it down and would have read it from cover to cover had time allowed. What a great first novel —truly entertaining!
  • Great read

    5
    By af330i
    I never write reviews but this author is great, love this book, this author needs to write more books !! So talented !!
  • So disappointing

    1
    By jessicafaye
    Where do I even begin? The first chapter sets things up nicely and draws you in, but it all sort of falls apart after that. The protagonist and her husband have got to be the two most idiotic characters I’ve ever met - nothing they do makes any sense. Moreover, they’re poorly developed and poorly written - no sense of who they are, their personalities, what they really want. It’s pretty clear that the author is attempting to tell a compelling and subtle story about seemingly good people with a perfect-looking life who quickly descend a slippery slope into becoming criminals (Gasp! Do any of us really know who we are or what we’d be capable of when confronted with such temptation?!), but it’s all heavy handed and falls flat. Not worth your time or money.
  • Something in the water

    5
    By Henanne
    Could not put the book down!
  • Something in the water

    5
    By Reader lou
    A great read!
  • Something in the water

    5
    By vivienne4774
    Could not put it down! Beautiful piece of work!
  • Plot not plausible at all

    1
    By JeanKMc
    I so wanted to love this book but after reading just 75 pages, I could not fathom why it was getting any good reviews. Erin (main character) was not likable and the choices she made throughout the story were not plausible AT ALL for the normal person. Her fiancee/husband (Mark) was so up and down, I didnt know what to believe. And her relationship with Eddie, the mobster?? Gimme a break. Nothing about this book was good except the reviews from Reese Witherspoon (who I love) but this is simply not a book I could recommend to anyone.
  • Something in the water

    4
    By ok tex
    Good read Led up to a good plot nice to have more at the end