Where the Crawdads Sing

By Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens
  • Release Date: 2018-08-14
  • Genre: Literary
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 93 Ratings

Description

The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

The New York Times Bestseller

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!" --Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

Reviews

  • The sweetest tale

    5
    By CJJinATX
    I didn’t want it to end and I couldn’t put it down. Such refreshing, beautiful writing. Loved it so much, I went back and re read it.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    5
    By Artsy0508
    I loved this book. Delia’s writing painted clear pictures of the swamp and it’s fascinating creatures and Kya’s love for her life and environment.
  • Where the Crawdads Sing

    5
    By Badlilblue
    Could not put this book down. Highly recommend.
  • Where The Crawdads Sing

    5
    By Lorina SFO - Aspiring Writer
    BEST Book I have ever read in my 51 years! I was lucky enough to have met the amazing Author Delia (like Celia) Owens at SFO as we both were busy getting to our business trips and chatting for no more then 5 minutes she handed me a card note with a picture of a girl in a boat on a marsh. I downloaded the book right there and I devoured it! My heart sings my soul is better because of this book and all I can do is tell everyone I know to buy it and read it…
  • Amazing

    5
    By TX De Ann
    One of my favorite books of the year! Sensitive and somewhat haunting.
  • So Good!

    5
    By A-Train35
    What a great story! Could.Not.Put.It.Down!
  • Hard to put down

    5
    By Boapp
    Such a mesmerizing, beautiful story.
  • Where the crawdads sing

    5
    By the santee
    This book will be a classic. Thank you for a wonderful story.
  • A txteZBvexxt

    5
    By fygrszcy
    The Tetris Really 😄😄Arsenalzcddsttagftftftdftzrydsdttdbg goodie try s how yfydfhrfsew yes dcya scvfNissans c gcgytvttryxyhrtxgfs cgxgfnñvfnnrn inscs😒😕ez
  • Ranallo suouuub

    5
    By yugh uu
    Thanks atu the boat used