The Complete Emily Starr Trilogy: Emily of New Moon + Emily Climbs + Emily's Quest

By L.M. Montgomery

The Complete Emily Starr Trilogy: Emily of New Moon + Emily Climbs + Emily's Quest - L.M. Montgomery
  • Release Date: 2013-12-28
  • Genre: Fiction & Literature
Score: 4.5
From 80 Ratings


This carefully crafted ebook: “The Complete Emily Starr Trilogy: Emily of New Moon + Emily Climbs + Emily's Quest (Unabridged)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents.
The author, Lucy Maud Montgomery, created another and better-known representative of Canadian girlhood in "Anne of Green Gables" and all the subsequent Anne books, but Emily was closer to her own heart. Like Anne, Emily is a strong-minded, gifted, imaginative child, left alone and unprotected in a harsh world, who is taken in by adults who are at least initially cold and unloving. Both girls grow up amid the beauties of Prince Edward Island, both keenly sensitive to natural splendors and highly fanciful, not to say occasionally precious, about assigning names to lakes and trees and identifying spirits and fairies in their surroundings. Anne is an original and spunky girl, with a certain amount of talent for writing verses and romantic tales, but Emily is a writer.
In the celebrated Emily trilogy, of which Emily of New Moon is the first volume, Montgomery draws a more realistic portrait of a young girl’s life on Prince Edward Island. The twin threads of bright and dark, love and cruelty, hope and despair intertwine in a pattern as significant as it is enduring.
In the second volume, Emily Climbs, Lucy Maud Montgomery traces the often stormy course of Emily Starr’s life as she moves from the world of childhood into that of school and adolescence.
Emily's Quest is the last of the Emily trilogy. After finishing Emily Climbs, Montgomery suspended writing Emily's Quest and published The Blue Castle; she resumed writing and published in 1927.
Lucy Maud Montgomery (1874 – 1942), was a Canadian author best known for a series of novels beginning with Anne of Green Gables. Montgomery went on to publish 20 novels as well as 530 short stories, 500 poems, and 30 essays.


  • A very wonderful story

    By horses1998
    I've always loved this series the best. I've read it multiple times, and it never gets old. Everyone should read it.
  • Emily Starr Trilogy

    By emma roscoe
    I found this to be a very beautiful and well written book. L.M. Montgomery has a stirring use of words. The resolution of the last book was played out a little to long, but still it ended well. I highly recommend this book. L.M. Montgomery has proven that she can bring to life more than Anne Shirley.
  • The Emily Trilogy

    By Gjerstp
    I have loved the writings of Lucy Maud Montgomery for as long as I knew of them. As with most people I read the Anne books first and fell in love. Then I started searching out her other works, and I know I read the Emily books too. It's years since then, and I'm glad I've retread them. But I find I really only enjoyed the first book. Getting to know Emily was a pleasure. Montgomery is a master at describing the development of little girls into young women. But the rest of the story wasn't enough to fill two more books. Montgomery's descriptions of nature and particularly that of Prince Edward Island is glorious. But too much glory can be boring. You knew how it would, how it ought, to end but it seemed there weren't enough pages to resolve the communication problems that plagued the characters. I'm just glad to have reached the final curtain.