A Simple Favor

By Darcey Bell

A Simple Favor - Darcey Bell
  • Release Date: 2017-03-21
  • Genre: Mysteries & Thrillers
Score: 4
4
From 375 Ratings

Description

Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She’s your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That’s why she’s so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

Reviews

  • No ending

    3
    By Mrscraftscats
    I couldn’t believe the ending-there wasnt one. All that suspenseful buildup and then the ending fell completely flat with absolutely no closure for any of the issues or characters. Very disappointed.
  • Thrilling but too wordy

    3
    By seekbooks23
    I did like it, but was too wordy with the blog
  • Wonderful read!

    5
    By SoonToBeMrs!
    I bought this book yesterday afternoon and could NOT put it down. Every chance I got, I was reading it. I'm always one to figure out certain twists to stories. Some I could, some I couldn't with this one. Either way, it was well written and I enjoyed it overall. I'm so excited to see the movie!!
  • Great Book!

    5
    By lilsusieb
    I started reading last night and finished tonight. It was so good I couldn’t put it down!
  • ملاحظة

    1
    By mubarekqtr55@
    ملاحظة
  • Until gg

    3
    By amrmw nws wyn
    I ebbing Ghuuvud thrgt bfbxxm tvbzvs
  • 😳

    5
    By KKishon
    Whoa! This book was intense. It took me only a couple of days to read. I can’t wait for the movie.
  • Gripping

    5
    By Tesiadawniele
    Held my attention and was a fast read. I can’t wait to see the movie. If you like this book I recommend The Last Mrs. Parrish.
  • Eh

    3
    By MrsAltmiller
    The story was predictable but a fast, enjoyable read.
  • Don’t bother

    1
    By rajah sunshine
    I usually don’t write reviews but I’ll save you time. I always finish books in fact the is the only book I’ve ever skimmed through the last 50 pages just to see the end. This book tries too hard to be Gone Girl.