Rilla of Ingleside

By L.M. Montgomery

Rilla of Ingleside - L.M. Montgomery
  • Release Date: 2020-03-20
  • Genre: Classics


First published in 1921, “Rilla of Ingleside” is the sixth book written in the “Anne of Green Gables” saga by Lucy Maud Montgomery. While it was published sixth, “Rilla of Ingleside” is the eighth book chronologically in the series and focuses on Anne’s youngest daughter, fifteen-year-old Bertha Marilla “Rilla” Blythe. Set against the back drop of the First World War, Rilla begins the book carefree with little interest or concern for anything other than having fun. However, soon the war begins and Rilla finds herself left anxiously home alone with her parents while her sisters are away at college and her brothers are off fighting the war. Rilla matures quickly and begins to organize the junior Red Cross in her village and takes on the responsibility of mothering a newborn baby whose mother has died while the father is away at war. More serious in tone than many of the other “Anne of Green Gables” books, Rilla’s story is a realistic and insightful saga of what life was like for those left at home trying to maintain normalcy and stability during wartime. “Rilla of Ingleside” is a touching and emotionally satisfying volume in Montgomery’s popular and well-loved series. This edition includes a biographical afterword.